T-20 International matches between India and South Africa

With the third match at Kolkata completely washed out, South Africa won the series 2-0 with no draw. Thus concluded the only bilateral series (and the only T20Is) between India and South Africa in India.

A total of 10 T20Is (where play got started) have been played between India and South Africa, with India still having a slight edge at 6-4.

Not much by way of statistics for these 10 matches, so they won’t take much time to go through.



Rohit Sharma, Raina and de Villiers have scored the most runs. Dhoni has played in all 10 matches between these teams, though Raina and de Villiers have only missed one apiece.


Rohit Sharma and Raina have scored the only centuries, 106 and 101 respectively. Sharma’s century came in a losing cause in this series. Raina is one of the few international players to have centuries in all 3 formats. Ingram’s 78 is the best for South Africa.

Here we take those who batted in at least 5 innings:


Duminy and Sharma have the highest averages, while Kohli, Raina and Albie Morkel have the highest strike rates.

Now to bowling:


Ashwin has the most wickets (10) while the best for SA is 4 by Botha and Albie Morkel.


RP Singh has the best innings figures of 4/13 which came in the 2007 World cup. Albie Morkel’s 3/12 in this series is the best for SA.

Considering those who bowled in at least 5 innings:


It is easy to see that Ashwin has the best average and strike rate while Harbhajan has the best economy.

Now to fielding:


de Villiers and Sharma have the most dismissals with 8 and 7 respectively. Boucher and Dhoni (3) have the most for keepers.

It can also be seen that several players have taken 3 dismissals in an innings.

For those who fielded in at least 5 innings:


de Villiers and Sharma have by far the highest rate of dismissals per innings, while Dhoni has the highest rate for pure keepers.


No one has reached the modest overall target of 100 runs and 5 wickets.

The best match performance is this modest effort of


in the 2012 world cup.