New records in List A and ODI cricket

Here are the highest scores in List A cricket as on 20 Jun 2018:

List A record scores on 20-6-2018

Live link for all scores of 375 and above:

England’s 481/6 is the highest ever ODI score and the second-highest List A score.

The previous ODI record score was England’s 444/3 against Pakistan in 2016-also at Nottingham!

It is also surprising that No 2 and No 3 on this list were both made on June 19, 2018 with India A also getting into the act.

And that Trent Bridge, Nottingham accounts for No 2, 4 and 5 on the list.

The highest List A and ODI score made against Australia is 438/9 by SA at Johannesburg in 2006, which was then a record in all ODIs, besides an 1-wicket win against a supposedly impregnable score of 434/4 made by Australia (which was an ODI record for a few hours).

We now look at the record defeats in List A matches.

England’s 242-run defeat of Australia is quite far down in List A matches and even in ODIs.

We now look at record ODI totals as on 20 June 2018:

ODI record totals-20 Jun 2018

Live link for ODI scores above 350:

Highest win margins in ODIs  as on 20 Jun 2018:

ODI winning margins on 20 June 2018

Live link:

This is the highest winning margin for England in all ODIs

and the highest losing margin for Australia.

Finally we look at “Ashes” ODIs:

Highest totals:

Ashes ODI totals

A big jump over the previous record of 342, where one of these scores was made on June 16 in the previous ODI at Cardiff.

Highest victory margins:

Ashes ODI margins

From this we see that the previous highest margin in an Aus v Eng ODI was 162 runs by Australia back in Feb 1999. The highest by England was “only” 101 runs even further back in 1977.




FIFA World Cup-where West Germany tripped up in 1974 and still won

Much is being made of Germany’s defeat by Mexico. Something even weirder happened in the 1974 tournament which was hosted by West Germany.

It was the “poor cousin” East Germany who did the tripping. This was their only appearance in the FIFA tournament. Of course, the country ceased to exist in 1990 and whatever good players existed at that time became part of the united German team. They probably did not have as much staying power as fellow Easterner Angela Merkel had.

In 1974, 16 teams took part in 4 groups of 4. Group 1 consisted of East Germany, West Germany, Chile and Australia.

West Germany started off with an 1-0 win against Chile. The match between the two Germanys was the last match of the group.

Somehow or other East Germany won 1-0, with the goal scored by Jurgen Sparwasser.

Finally the results for group 1 read East Germany 5, West Germany 4, Chile 2 and Australia 1. Thus the two Germanys advanced to the second round.

In that tournament the second round had two groups A and B each with 4 teams. The 4 teams played a league, and the toppers from A and B went to the finals and the runners-up went to the 3rd-place match. There were no semi-finals.

In Group A, East Germany lost 1-0 to Brazil, 2-0 to Netherlands and drew 1-1 with Argentina. The pool result was Netherlands 6, Brazil 4, East Germany 1, Argentina 1. Thus ended East Germany’s only World Cup appearance.

In Group B, West Germany beat Yugoslavia 2-0, Sweden 4-2, and Poland 2-0. The pool result was West Germany 6, Poland 4, Sweden 4 and Yugoslavia 0.

Poland beat Brazil 1-0 for the 3rd place.

In the final at Munich, West Germany won 2-1 against Netherlands with goals scored by Johan Neeskens from a penalty in the 2nd minute. Paul Breitner equalized from a penalty in the 25th minute. “Der Bomber” Gerd Muller scored in the 44th minute, and thus the home team won the 1974 tournament with a 2-1 victory.

That was Muller’s last international appearance. His record of 14 goals in the World Cup stood as a record until being surpassed by Ronaldo and Miroslav Klose in recent years.

Many of the Netherlands team went on to lose the 1978 final to Argentina, who hosted that tournament. Still later the Dutch were runners-up to Spain in 2010 in South Africa. Netherlands is still to win a World Cup final.

FIFA World Cup 1930-2014 in a larger nutshell

Here we list the top 4 teams in each edition of the tournament, as well as the winners of the Golden Boot and Golden Ball (and their predecessors).

FIFA reults extended

Note that the terms Golden Boot and Golden Ball came into use only in 1982, though awards for best player were made from the earliest tournaments.

Previous encounters between Afghanistan and India

Afghanistan’s first Test gets under way at Bengaluru on Jun 14. We look at past encounters between the teams in limited overs cricket.

There is not much to write about. The teams have met only in one ODI and two T20Is and India have won all of them.

The ODI was in the course of the 2014 Asia Cup. India won by 8 wickets.

The two T20Is were in the World T20I Championships in 2010 and 2012. India won by 7 wickets and by 23 runs.,-group-c-world-t20-2010/,-group-a-world-t20-2012-13/

A sobering thought for Afghanistan: Among the other 11 Test teams, only Australia have won their first Test and only Zimbabwe drew their first Test. The other 9 all lost their maiden Test efforts.

The previous Test entrant Ireland had one previous Test player in Boyd Rankin. Afghanistan has none. But as in the case of Ireland, most of the team have long experience in ODIs and T20Is.

Unusual dismissals-obstructing the field

One of the sore points of India’s defeat in the Asia Cup final against dismissal was the unusual dismissal (obstructing the field) of Anuja Patil for 3. She thus became the first player to be so dismissed in a women’s T20I match.

There is no such instance in women’s Tests.

There is one instance in ODIs, again from India. D Kamini (2) was dismissed the same way against the West Indies in 2016.

This mode of dismissal is quite rare in men’s cricket too.

Tests: Only one instance, Len Hutton (27), E v SA in 1951.

ODIs: 6 instances, starting with Ramiz Raja (99) against England in 1987. This was in an ODI series after the 1987 World Cup. The last instance was by Ben Stokes, E v A in 2015.

T20Is: Only one instance, Jason Roy (67), E v SA in 2017.

The fine art of minnow-bashing

The term “minnow-bashing” was often heard in World Cup cricket matches where the non-regular teams often came to grief against the major teams.

Now the women’s T20I teams of India and Pakistan have shown that they are better at minnow-bashing than their male counterparts. The occasions came in the course of  the ongoing Asia Cup which is a T20I tournament in Malaysia. As we will see, the Malaysian team have been very gracious hosts.

The 6 participating teams are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Thailand and Malaysia. As the last 2 are not regular teams, their matches are not counted in women’s T20I records.

India started the process by dismissing Malaysia for 27 and thus winning by 142 runs:

Pakistan did almost as well, dismissing the hosts for 30 and winning by 147 runs.

Thailand has also done quite badly, without ever crossing 100. But they did beat Malaysia by 9 wickets:

The league matches continue on June 9, which features Ind v Pak, SL v Th and BD vs Ma.

The final on June 10 will probably be between India and Pakistan.